Possible issue with multiple xs:groups

Topics: Questions
Nov 24, 2011 at 2:38 PM

Hi all.

First of all many, many thanks to Immo for an excellent tool that has the potential to be fantastically useful for me. Secondly, apologies if my question has been covered before or if I've missed something obvious... I've checked as best I can but I'm fairly new to this.

The following schema fails with an "Object reference not set to an instance of an object." error message (full stack below). When I remove the unused widgetGroup xs:group block it seems to work absolutely fine. So as far as I can tell the error relates to having two xs:groups. 

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<xs:schema xmlns:xs="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" elementFormDefault="qualified">
  <xs:group name="widgetGroup">
    <xs:sequence>
      <xs:element name="foo" type="xs:string" />
      <xs:element name="bar" type="xs:string" />
    </xs:sequence>
  </xs:group>
  <xs:group name="custGroup">
    <xs:sequence>
      <xs:element name="customer" type="xs:string" />
      <xs:element name="orderdetails" type="xs:string"/>
      <xs:element name="billto" type="xs:string"/>
      <xs:element name="shipto" type="xs:string"/>
    </xs:sequence>
  </xs:group>
  <xs:element name="order" type="ordertype"/>
  <xs:complexType name="ordertype">
    <xs:group ref="custGroup"/>
  </xs:complexType>
</xs:schema>

SHFB: Error BE0029: Unexpected error while executing plug-in 'XML Schema Documenter': System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

at XsdDocumentation.ExceptionBuilder.UnexpectedSchemaObjectType(XmlSchemaObject schemaObject)

at XsdDocumentation.Model.XmlSchemaSetVisitor.Visit(XmlSchemaObject obj)

at XsdDocumentation.Model.XmlSchemaSetVisitor.Visit(XmlSchemaElement element)

at XsdDocumentation.Model.ParentFinder.Visit(XmlSchemaElement element)

at XsdDocumentation.Model.XmlSchemaSetVisitor.Visit(XmlSchemaParticle particle)