This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

XSD dependencies affecting path length?

Topics: Questions
Apr 5, 2013 at 4:23 PM
Edited Apr 5, 2013 at 5:43 PM
Hi,

Thanks for your efforts on this tool. I've been trying to get it to work (I'm new to sandcastle) and I have a question for you:

I have 5 XSD files in the set, and I get the below error when building. Four of them have "imports" to other XSDs in the set. The error does not mention which file.

However, if I only specify one of the XSD files (one with no imports specified in it), it works without error.

Any ideas?

(Also - how can I use the plug-in without any SHFB "documentation sources" specified - I just want docs generated for the XSDs?)

SHFB: Error BE0029: Unexpected error while executing plug-in 'XML Schema Documenter': XsdDocumentation.XsdDocumentationException: There was an error constructing the schema set. ---> System.IO.PathTooLongException: The specified path, file name, or both are too long. The fully qualified file name must be less than 260 characters, and the directory name must be less than 248 characters.
at System.IO.PathHelper.Append(Char value)
at System.IO.Path.NormalizePath(String path, Boolean fullCheck, Int32 maxPathLength)
at System.IO.Path.GetDirectoryName(String path)
at XsdDocumentation.Model.XmlSchemaSetBuilder.Build(IEnumerable`1 schemaFileNames)
at XsdDocumentation.Model.SchemaSetManager.Initialize()
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at XsdDocumentation.Model.SchemaSetManager.Initialize()
at XsdDocumentation.Model.Context..ctor(IMessageReporter messageReporter, Configuration configuration)
at XsdDocumentation.Model.ContentGenerator..ctor(IMessageReporter messageReporter, Configuration configuration)
at XsdDocumentation.PlugIn.XsdPlugIn.Execute(ExecutionContext executionContext)
at SandcastleBuilder.Utils.BuildEngine.BuildProcess.ExecutePlugIns(ExecutionBehaviors behavior)
There was an error constructing the schema set.